Sun + marine layer. Washington, September 2014.
Rock hunting. Washington, September 2014.Rock hunting. Washington, September 2014.
Logan. Washington, September 2014.
Washington, September 2014.Washington, September 2014.
Smelt hunting. Washington, September 2014.Smelt hunting. Washington, September 2014.Smelt hunting. Washington, September 2014.

nburbeck:

tammymercure:

First, let me apologize for preaching to the choir. Everyone I know on Tumblr has been super cool and one of the reasons I love Tumblr is there is a lot of built-in equity.

Selektor Magazine just posted the first 100 photographers that they have featured. It really bummed me out to see only 8 or so women on there. Everyone can have their personal taste and I don’t mean any neg to Loic or the magazine, but there is still systematic sexism at work in the photo world. Men still get more gallery shows/features because they get more press for it and then they get more press because they get more gallery shows/features, etc etc. I’ve been slowly making wikipedia pages for notable woman photographers and it has been really eye-opening on what wikipedia considers credible resources and how few are available online for undeniably notable women. 

I’ve seen great strides in equity for women and people with diverse backgrounds in publications like VICE and most places on Tumblr. With power shifting out from the typical places there has been so much cool stuff happening- tons of amazing self published books, pop-up galleries, collectives, and more. I love Tumblr because people can use it to express themselves in whatever manner they choose and it is easy to find true friends and inspiration here.

I quickly made a list of awesome women photographers on tumblr if you are looking for some fine people to follow. (And sorry if I missed someone I love in my haste to make a list.) And feel free to message me with people you think I’d love!

Michelle K Anderson http://michelleka.tumblr.com/

Courtney Asztalos http://courtneyasztalos.tumblr.com/

Vivien Ayroles http://blog.vivienayroles.fr/

Sophie Barbasch http://sophiebarbasch.tumblr.com/

Kendrick Brinson http://kendrickbrinson.tumblr.com/

Hannah Burton http://hannahburtonphotography.tumblr.com/

Jessica Dean Camp http://jessicadeancamp.tumblr.com/

Marisha Camp http://marishacamp.tumblr.com/

Sam Cannon http://samcannon.tumblr.com/

Lindsay D’Addato http://lindsaydaddato.tumblr.com/

Rebecca Drolen http://rebeccadrolen.tumblr.com/

Jessica Eaton http://jessicaeaton.tumblr.com/

Jen Ervin http://jenervinblog.tumblr.com/

Lynley Faith http://lynleyfaith.tumblr.com/

Sarah Amy Fishlock http://sarahamyfishlock.tumblr.com/

Vivian Fu http://vivian-fu.tumblr.com/

Lydia Garnett http://lydiagarnett.tumblr.com/

Marisa Gertz http://marisagertz.tumblr.com/

Lisa Gidley http://lisagidley.tumblr.com/

Michelle Groskopf  http://dailystreet.tumblr.com/

Alexis Gross http://alexisgrossphotography.tumblr.com/

Marcie Hancock http://marciehancock.tumblr.com/

Becky Harlan http://beckyharlan.tumblr.com/

Molly Hayes http://mollyhayes.tumblr.com/

Cynthia Henebry http://marciehancock.tumblr.com/

Hobbes http://hhobbess.tumblr.com/

Jenny Hueston http://jennyhueston.tumblr.com/

Elizabeth Huey http://elizabeth-huey.tumblr.com/

Janna Ireland http://blog.jannaireland.com

Marta Iwanek http://martaiwanek.tumblr.com/

Julie Renee Jones http://juliereneejones.tumblr.com/

Megan King http://megangking.tumblr.com/

Cait Kovac http://caitkovac.tumblr.com/

Stacy Kranitz http://stacykranitz.tumblr.com/

Allyson Lamb http://allysonannelamb.tumblr.com/

Lodoe Laura http://lodoelaura.tumblr.com/

Kate Levy http://katelevyphotography.tumblr.com/

Morgan Rachel Levy http://morganrlevy.tumblr.com/

Amy Lombard http://amylombard.tumblr.com/

Yael Malka http://yaelmalka.tumblr.com/

Colleen Mann http://colleenmann.tumblr.com/

Maidje Marilyn http://www.maidjemarilyn.com/

Alex Matzke http://alexmatzke.tumblr.com/

Brittany Marcoux http://brittanymarcoux.tumblr.com/

Molly Matalon http://mollymatalon.tumblr.com/

Noelle McCleaf http://noellemccleaf.tumblr.com/

Ruth McMilan http://www.ruthmcm.com/

Lindsay Metivier http://lindsaymetivier.tumblr.com/

Elaine Catherine Miller http://ecmiller.tumblr.com/

Sarah Katherine Moore http://sarahkatherinemoore.tumblr.com/

Andrea Morales http://andreamoralesphoto.tumblr.com/

Eva O’Leary http://evaoleary.tumblr.com/

Cait Oppermann http://caitoppermann.tumblr.com/

Elle Perez http://elleperez.tumblr.com/

Helena Price http://blog.helenaprice.com/

Missy Prince http://seaofempties.tumblr.com/

Laurel Ptak http://laurelptak.com/

Lyndsey Putt http://lyndseyputt.tumblr.com/

Lola Quivororon http://lolalolaquivoron.tumblr.com/

Tamara Reynolds http://tamarareynoldsphotography.tumblr.com/

Clementine Schneidermann http://clementineschneider.tumblr.com/

Robin Schwartz http://robinschwartz.tumblr.com/

Maggie Shannon http://maggieshannon.tumblr.com/

Ginevra Shay http://ginevrashay.tumblr.com/

Erin Shipley http://etshipley.tumblr.com

Annie Sollinger http://bunnybunnyrabbit.tumblr.com/

Melissa Stallard http://melissastallard.tumblr.com/

Jamie Steele http://jamiesteele.tumblr.com/

Samantha Sutcliffe http://samanthasutcliffe.tumblr.com/

Shannon Taggart http://shannon-taggart.tumblr.com/

Yvonne Todd http://yvonnetodd.tumblr.com/

Lauren Wansker http://laurenwansker.tumblr.com/

LIndley Warren http://lindleywarren.tumblr.com/

Elizabeth Weinberg http://scrapbook.elizabethweinberg.com/

Sara J Winston http://jwwwinston.tumblr.com/

Tara Wray http://tarawray.tumblr.com/

Jaclyn Wright http://jaclynrwright.tumblr.com/

Jessica Xie http://jessicaxiephoto.tumblr.com/

And check out Accent Magazine http://blog.accent-magazine.com/  and Las Brujas de Plata http://lasbrujasdeplata.tumblr.com/.

mollymatalon:

the problem here is making a list to begin with.

just wanted to add some ladies

Caroline Tompkins http://carolinetompkins.tumblr.com/

Kelly Surdo http://lly-k.tumblr.com/

Eleanor Bleier http://kebleier.tumblr.com/

Morgan Maher http://mmaher95.tumblr.com/

Amy Harrity http://amyharrity.tumblr.com/

Heather Sten http://heathersten.tumblr.com/

Stephanie Gonot http://stephaniegonot.tumblr.com/

Just to add a few more (sorry for any repeats), not just on tumblr:

Kristy Carpenter http://kristycarpenter.tumblr.com/

Hannah Karsen http://hannahkarsen.tumblr.com/

Julie Leah Weber http://julieleahweber.tumblr.com/

Rachael Wolfe http://www.rachelwolfe.com/ http://howlya.tumblr.com/

Jaclyn Wright http://jaclynrwright.tumblr.com/

Emily Berger http://eeberger.tumblr.com/

Cara Phillips http://cara-phillips.com/

Millee Tibbs http://www.milleetibbs.com/

Bridget Collins https://bridget-collins-mnvd.squarespace.com/ http://caffeinatedheart.tumblr.com/

Beth Dow http://www.bethdow.com/

Carrie Thompson http://www.carriethompson.com/

Tricia Vetrone http://tricia-vetrone.tumblr.com/

Kayla Huett http://www.kaylahuett.com/

Sarah Wilmer http://www.sarahwilmer.com/

Sarah Christianson http://www.sarahchristianson.com/

Meghan Duda http://www.reginschwaen.com/mhome.html

Nicole Jean Hill http://nicolejeanhill.com/home.html

Sheron Rupp http://www.sheronrupp.net/

Amanda Boe http://www.amandaboe.com/

Sarah Katherine Moore http://sarahkatherinemoore.tumblr.com/

Laurel Lueders http://www.laurellueders.com/

Emily Porter http://emilyporterphotographs.com/

Sarah Zamecnik http://zamecnik.tumblr.com/

There are (of course) MANY more to add to this list.

Just followed a lot of talented ladies on Tumblr.

(via tarawray)

Washington, September 2014.
Washington, September 2014.
Washington, September 2014.
Washington, September 2014.
Washington, September 2014.
Mushroom foraging in the rainforest. Washington, September 2014.Mushroom foraging in the rainforest. Washington, September 2014.Mushroom foraging in the rainforest. Washington, September 2014.Mushroom foraging in the rainforest. Washington, September 2014.Mushroom foraging in the rainforest. Washington, September 2014.Mushroom foraging in the rainforest. Washington, September 2014.Mushroom foraging in the rainforest. Washington, September 2014.Mushroom foraging in the rainforest. Washington, September 2014.
I answered some questions about how I work, taking risks, being scared shitless, and developing a point of view.
http://emmazedphotog.com/interview/helena-price
(Photo by Beto Ruiz Alonso)
Mushroom foraging in the rainforest. Washington, September 2014.
Washington, September 2014.